Last Day at Temple School!

We just had our last day of service at OSC with the Temple School service group. It was a very fun yet sad day for Anna and I. I got really attached to the kids during my last three years being part of this service group. As we only have a few days of school left before we leave for our final IB exams, it meant that we had to start to say goodbye to different people, such as the Temple School children.

For our last day, we organized a small party where each of us brought some snacks to share. We then watched some cartoons and later played with the kids. It felt like a normal Thursday afternoon in service until I realized that it was my last day with them. When we went to their van to say our goodbyes, I felt different emotions. I was happy to see the cute kids having fun, but sad that it was our last day spent with them.

This year has been filled with joy but it was also challenging. As a new service leader, Anna and I had the responsibility to organize and plan the activities with the kids. There were times where it did not go as planned, but the kids still always had a smile on their faces. For example, in December, we organized a toys and stationary drive, which was very challenging. Yet, we were satisfied with the reactions the kids had when getting their presents.

The main goal of this service group is to teach the kids basic English skills through interactive games, and I am proud to say that we managed to achieve this goal. I have noticed that many of the children have improved when speaking in English and were even able to communicate with us, even if it were just simple words such as “red” or “two”.

What I loved the most about this service was to play with the children and see them happy and giggle. I always cherished their tiny arms giving us big hugs. My time spent with this service group demanded hard work and commitment, but I will definitely miss the kids.

A group picture on Anna’s and my last day with Temple School (Photo credits to Ms. Marikar)

Leave a comment